Athlete’s foot

Description of an Athlete’s foot

athlete’s foot

Athlete’s foot (tinea pedis) is a common, persistent infection of the foot caused by a dermatophyte, a microscopic fungus that lives on dead tissue of the hair, toenails, and outer skin layers. These fungi thrive in warm, moist environments such as shoes, stockings, and the floors of public showers, locker rooms, and swimming pools. Athlete’s foot is transmitted through contact with a cut or abrasion on the plantar surface (bottom) of the foot. In rare cases, the fungus is transmitted from infected animals to humans.

Dermatophyte (skin) infections cause raised, circular pimples or blisters that resemble the lesions caused by ringworm. The infections are named after the part of the body they infect. Tinea pedis, therefore, refers to an infection of the feet.

Athlete’s foot is most common in men from the teenage years to the early 50s. Prevalence is affected by personal hygiene and daily activity. People with compromised immune systems are at greater risk.

Causes of an Athlete’s foot

There are at least four dermatophytes that can cause tineas pedis. The most common is trichophyton rubrum.

Signs and Symptoms of an Athlete’s foot

There are four common forms of athlete’s foot. The most common is an annoying, persistent itching of the skin on the sole of the foot or between the toes (often the fourth and fifth toes). As the infection progresses, the skin grows soft. The center of the infection is inflamed and sensitive to the touch. Gradually, the edges of the infected area become milky white and the skin begins to peel. There may also be a slight watery discharge.

In the ulcerative type, the peeling skin becomes worse. Large cracks develop in the skin, making the patient susceptible to secondary bacterial infections. The infection can be transmitted to other parts of the body by scratching, or contamination of clothing or bedding.

The third type of tinea infection is often called “moccasin foot.” In this type, a red rash spreads across the lower portion of the foot in the pattern of a moccasin. The skin in this region gradually becomes dense, white, and scaly.

The fourth form of tinea pedis is inflammatory or vesicular, in which a series of raised bumps or ridges develops under the skin on the bottom of the foot, typically in the region of the metatarsal heads. Itching is intense and there is less peeling of the skin.

People with acute tinea infections may develop similar outbreaks on their hands, typically on the palms. This trichophyde reaction, also known as tineas manuum, is an immune system response to fungal antigens (antibodies that fight the fungal infection).

Diagnosis of an Athlete’s foot

Diagnosis is made by visual observation of the symptoms. The podiatrist eliminates the possibility of a bacterial infection by performing a microscopic examination of skin scrapings to determine the type of fungus causing the infection. Other tests include growing a fungal culture from skin scrapings and examining the patient’s foot under an ultraviolet light.

Treatment of an Athlete’s foot

Tinea infections may disappear spontaneously or persist for years. They are difficult to eliminate and often recur. Best results usually are obtained with early treatment before the fungal infection establishes itself firmly. Antifungal drugs may be used to fight the infection.

In most cases, 4 to 6 weeks of treatment clears up the infection. If the infection becomes systemic, stronger antifungal medication may be prescribed.

If the infection is bacterial, a course of oral antibiotics may be prescribed.

Contact your podiatrist

Contact our podiatry clinic and one of our podiatrists will be pleased to hear from you.

The information provided in this web site is not intended to be a substitute for medical examination, diagnosis or treatment. The material is provided for information purposes alone

Le pied d’athlète

Description du pied d’athlète

pieds d’athlète

Le pied d’athlète (tinea pedis) est une infection courante, persistante du pied, causée par une mycose qui se développe sur les tissus nécrosés du poil, les ongles et de l’épiderme. Les mycoses prospèrent en milieu chaud et humide tels les souliers, les bas et le plancher des douches publiques, des vestiaires et des piscines. Le pied d’athlète, se transmet par contact avec une coupure, une éraflure sous le pied. Le pied d’athlète est rarement transmis d’un animal infecté aux humains.

Certaines dermatites produisent des boutons ou des cloques qui ressemblent aux lésions causés par la teigne. Elles prennent le nom de la partie du corps qui est infectée.

Incidence et prévalence du pied d’athlète

Le pied d’athlète est plus fréquent chez les hommes de l’adolescence au début de la cinquantaine. Ceci est attribuable à l’hygiène personnelle et aux activités quotidiennes. Les personnes ayant un système immunitaire déficient, sont plus à risque.

Causes et symptômes du pied d’athlète

Il y a quatre causes principales des affections du pied.

Une démangeaison persistante à la plante du pied ou entre les orteils, plus fréquemment entre le quatrième et le cinquième orteil est causé par le trichophyton rubrum. La peau s’amollit à mesure que l’infection progresse, Il s’ensuit des rougeurs, de l’enflure et de la douleur au toucher. Plus tard, le pourtour de l’inflammation blanchit et la peau se détache graduellement. Il peut aussi y avoir une légère suppuration.

L’ulcération dans ce genre d’affection, le pelage de la peau s’accentue; la peau se fissure et devient susceptible aux infections bactériennes secondaires. L’infection peut alors se transmettre ailleurs sur le corps par le toucher ou par la contamination des vêtements ou de la literie.

Une autre infection du pied, communément appelée « pied mocassin » cause une éruption rougeâtre qui couvre le bas du pied en prenant la forme d’un mocassin. La peau affectée s’épaissit, blanchit et devient écailleuse.

Une quatrième forme d’affection du pied est inflammatoire ou vésiculaire; une série de sillons se forme sous la peau de la plante du pied le plus souvent dans la région du métatarse. La démangeaison est intense, mais la peau pèle moins.

Cette infection peut parfois affecter la paume des mains des personnes infectées. C’est une réaction du système immunitaire à la mycose qui provoque cette affection.

Diagnostic du pied d’athlète

L’examen clinique des symptômes permet au podiatre de poser son diagnostic. Le podiatre peut analyser un prélèvement de la partie lésée pour classer la mycose ou identifier une infection bactérienne. Le podiatre peut aussi faire une culture de prélèvement ou faire un examen du pied sous rayons ultra-violets.

Traitements du pied d’athlète

Les infections du pied peuvent disparaître spontanément ou persister durant des années. Elles sont difficiles à éradiquer et peuvent resurgir. On obtient les meilleurs résultats en traitant avant que les mycoses s’implantent solidement. On peut combattre les infections à l’aide d’agents antimycosiques.

Le plus souvent, un traitement de 4 à 6 semaines guérira l’infection; cependant, une infection plus répandue peut exiger l’usage d’agents antimycosiques plus puissants.

On aura recours aux antibiotiques administrés par voie orale pour une infection bactérienne.

 

Les informations fournies dans ce site Web ne remplacent pas l’examen, le diagnostic ou le traitement médical.