Hallux Abducto Valgus (Bunion)

Description of a bunion

BUNIONS – Hallux Valgus is a condition which affects the joint at the base of the big toe. The condition is commonly called a bunion. The bunion actually refers to the bump that grows on the side of the first metatarsophalangeal (MTP) joint. In reality, the condition is bunionmuch more complex than a simple bump on the side of the toe. Interestingly, this condition almost never occurs in cultures that do not wear shoes. Pointed shoes, such as high heels and cowboy boots, can contribute to the development of hallux valgus. Wide shoes, with plenty of room for the toes, lessen the chances of developing the deformity and help reduce the irritation on the bunion if you already have one. However, shoes alone are not “solely” to blame for the development of bunions. Abnormal foot function comes into play in the development of almost all bunions, and the most common abnormality is over-pronation or excessive flattening of the foot, easily correctable with an orthotic.

Anatomy of a bunion

The term hallux valgus actually describes what happens to the big toe. Hallux is the medical term for “big toe”, and valgus is an anatomic term that means the deformity goes in a direction away from the midline of the body. So, in hallux valgus, the big toe begins to point towards the outside of the foot. As this condition grows worse, other changes occur in the foot that make the problem worse. The bone just above the big toe, the first metatarsal, usually develops too much of an angle in the other direction. This condition is called metatarsus primus varus. Metatarsus primus means “first metatarsal”, and varus is the medical term that the deformity goes in a direction towards the midline of the body. This creates a situation where the first metatarsal and the big toe now form an angle with the point sticking out at the inside edge of the ball of the foot. The bunion that develops is actually a response to the pressure from the shoe on the point of this angle. At first the bump is made up of irritated, swollen tissue that is constantly caught between the shoe and the bone beneath the skin. As time goes on, the constant pressure may cause the bone to thicken as well, creating an even larger lump to rub against the shoe.

Symptoms of a bunion

The symptoms of hallux valgus (bunions) usually center around the bunion. The bunion is painful. The severe hallux valgus deformity is also distressing to many, and becomes a cosmetic problem. Finding appropriate shoewear can become difficult, especially for women who desire to be fashionable, but have difficulty tolerating fashionable shoewear. Finally, increasing deformity begins to displace the second toe upward, and may create a situation where the second toe is constantly rubbing on the shoe.

Treatments of a bunion

Treatment of hallux valgus (bunions) nearly always starts with adapting the shoewear to fit the foot. In the early stages of hallux valgus, converting from a pointed toe shoe to a wider box toe shoe may arrest the progression of the deformity. The pain that arises from the bunion is due to pressure from the shoe. Treatment focuses on removing the pressure that the shoe exerts on the deformity. Wider shoes reduce the pressure on the bunion. Bunion pads may reduce pressure and rubbing from the shoe. There are also numerous devices, such as toe spacers, that attempt to splint the big toe and reverse the deforming forces.

Surgery of a bunion

If all conservative measures fail to control the symptoms, then surgery may be suggested to treat the hallux valgus condition. There are well over 100 surgical procedures described to treat hallux valgus. The basic considerations in performing any surgical procedure for hallux valgus are: to remove the bunion to re-align the bones that make up the big toe to balance the forces so the deformity does not return

In some very mild cases of bunion formation, surgery may only be required to remove the bumpbunion-ba-surgery that makes up the bunion.

It is more likely that re-alignment of the big toe will also be necessary. The major decision that must be made, is whether or not the metatarsal bone will need to be cut and re-aligned as well. The angle made between the first metatarsal and the second metatarsal is used to make this decision. The normal angle is around 9-10 degrees. If the angle is 13 degrees or more, the metatarsal will probably need to be cut and realigned.

This effectively reduces the angle between the first and second metatarsal bones, narrowing the foot. The bone is held in the desired position with a metal screw or pin.

The bone is re-aligned and held in place with screws or metal pins until it heals. A cast is worn and the patient walks with crutches or a walker, not bearing any weight on this foot or an extended period of time. Again, this reduces the angle between the first and second metatarsal bones.

Re-alignment of the big toe is then done by releasing the tight structures on the lateral side of the first MTP joint. This includes the tight joint capsule and the tendon of the adductor hallucis muscle. As you can see, this muscle tends to pull the big toe inward. The toe is realigned and the joint capsule on the medial side of the big toe is tightened to keep the toe straight.

Once the surgery is complete, it will take about eight weeks before the bones and soft tissues are healed.

After surgery is completed, it is essential that the two factors that caused the bunion originally be eliminated: Tight shoes must be avoided and abnormal foot function must be corrected.

Contact our podiatry clinic and one of our podiatrists will be pleased to hear from you.

The information provided in this web site is not intended to be a substitute for medical examination, diagnosis or treatment. The material is provided for information purposes alone.

Hallux Abducto Valgus (Oignon)

Description de l’oignon

Hallux Abducto Valgus affecte l’articulation à la base du gros orteil. Cette affection communément appelée oignon, est la bosse qui se développe sur le côté de la première articulation à la base du gros orteil. Cette condition est beaucoup plus complexe qu’elle ne paraît. Il est à noter queproblèmes de pied cette condition n’existe à peu près pas chez les cultures qui ne portent pas de chaussures. Les souliers pointus, les souliers à talons hauts, les bottes de cowboy contribuent à la formation de l’oignon. Les souliers à bout ample où les orteils ne sont pas tassées, diminuent l’incidence de cette difformité et réduisent l’irritation du durillon s’il existe déjà. Cependant, les souliers ne sont pas la seule cause du problème; une fonction anormale du pied contribue à la formation des oignons dans la majorité des cas. La plus grande cause est un déséquilibre dans le dynamisme du pied (pronation ou chute de la voute du pied); le podiatre prescrit alors une orthèse plantaire pour effectuer un repositionnement optimal du pied.

L’anatomie de l’oignon

Le terme hallux abducto valgus décrit bien ce qui mène à cette anomalie. Hallux est le nom médical du gros orteil, abducto qualifie la déformation anatomique qui indique une déviation vers l’extérieur de la ligne médiane du corps dans le plan sagittal et valgus signifie rotation vers l’extérieur dans le plan frontal. Le gros orteil dévie vers l’extérieur du pied dans un cas de hallux valgus. D’autres transformations accentuent le problème au cours de l’évolution de l’anomalie. Le premier métatarse, l’os à la base du gros orteil dévie dans l’autre direction à un fort angle. Le terme médical qui s’applique à cette condition est « metatarsus abductus ».  Il en découle la formation d’une pointe vers l’intérieur du pied au niveau de la protubérance du premier métatarse. L’oignon qui s’y développe résulte de la pression de la chaussure sur cette bosse. L’oignon évolue du simple tissu irrité et enflé, vers l’épaississement de l’os, ce qui augmente la pression et le frottement sur la chaussure.

Les symptômes de l’oignon

Les symptômes du hallux valgus sont surtout centrés sur l’oignon. L’oignon est sensible et douloureux mais la difformité grave devient un problème cosmétique qui angoisse certaines personnes. Il est difficile de trouver des chaussures de bon goût pour les dames car les souliers à la mode ne sont pas adaptés à cette déformation du pied. Dans les cas extrêmes, le deuxième orteil est poussé vers le haut, ce qui cause un frottement sur la chaussure et rend la condition encore plus intolérable.

Les traitements de l’oignon

Traitement de l’hallux valgus commence toujours par le changement de type de chaussures  pour adapter le pied. Dans les premiers stades de l’hallux valgus, le changement d’une chaussure à bout pointu à une chaussure à empeigne large peut arrêter la progression de la déformation. La douleur qui résulte de l’oignon est due à la pression qu’exerce la chaussure sur l’os. Le traitement vise à supprimer la pression que la chaussure exerce sur la déformation. Les chaussures larges réduisent  la pression sur l’oignon. Des coussinets pour oignons peuvent aussi réduire la pression et le frottement de la chaussure. Il ya aussi de nombreux coussins, tels que les séparateurs d’orteil, qui agissent comme attelle pour le gros orteil et tentent d’inverser les forces déformantes, et bien sûr, les orthèses plantaires qui tentent aussi d’inverser les forces déformantes.

Chirurgie de l’oignon

Si toutes les mesures conservatrices ne parviennent pas à contrôler les symptômes, alors la chirurgie peut être proposée pour traiter l’hallux valgus. Il ya bien plus de 100 interventions chirurgicales décrites pour traiter l’hallux valgus. Les considérations de base dans l’exercice de toute intervention chirurgicale pour hallux valgus sont: pour enlever l’oignon pour réaligner les os qui forment le gros orteil et pour équilibrer les forces de sorte que la déformation ne se reproduise pas.

Dans certains cas modérés d’oignons, la chirurgie peut être nécessaire pour enlever la bosse qui fait l’oignon.

Il est plus probable que le réalignement du gros orteil sera également nécessaire. La décision majeure qui doit être prise, est de savoir si oui ou non l’os métatarsien devrait être coupé et réaligné aussi. L’angle formé entre le premier métatarse et le deuxième métatarse est utilisé pour prendre Chirurgie de l'oignoncette décision. L’angle normal est d’environ 9-10 degrés. Si l’angle est de 13 degrés ou plus, le métatarse aurait probablement besoin d’être coupé et réaligné. Cela permet de réduire efficacement l’angle entre le premier et le second os du métatarse, et ça résulte en diminuant la largeur du pied.

L’os est réaligné et maintenu en place avec des vis ou des broches en métal jusqu’à ce qu’il guérisse. Un plâtre peut être utilisé et le patient marche avec des béquilles ou une marchette, n’exerçant pas de charge ou de poids sur ce pied pour une période de temps prolongée. Encore une fois, ce qui réduit l’angle entre le premier et le second os du métatarse.

Le réalignement du gros orteil est alors fait en libérant les structures contractées sur le côté latéral de la première articulation Métatarsophalangienne. Cela comprend la capsule étanche de l’articulation et le tendon de l’adducteur de l’hallux. Comme vous pouvez le voir, ce muscle a une tendance à tirer le gros orteil vers l’intérieur. L’orteil est réaligné et la capsule articulaire sur la face interne du gros orteil est serrée pour maintenir l’orteil droit.

Une fois l’opération terminée, il faudra environ huit semaines avant que les os et les tissus mous soient guéris.
Après l’opération, il est essentiel que les deux facteurs qui ont causé l’oignon à l’origine soit éliminés: chaussures étroites doivent être évitées et la fonction anormale du pied doit être corrigée avec des orthèses plantaires faites sur mesure.

Les informations fournies dans ce site Web ne remplacent pas l’examen, le diagnostic ou le traitement médical.