Corns

Description of corns

Corns

Corns are thickened areas of skin that form in response to excessive pressure and friction. They are the result of the body’s attempt to protect the skin and the structures beneath it. Corns are usually hard and circular, with a polished or translucent center, like a kernel of corn. They may become painfully inflamed in response to persistent, excessive pressure or friction and ulcerated when they rub against each other.

Type of Corns

There are two types of corns. The most common type develops on the tops and tips of the toes and along the sides of the feet. These are called heloma durums (hard corns) and are caused primarily by improper-fitting shoes and toe deformities. The second type develops between the toes and is sometimes referred to as a “kissing corn.” They are called heloma molles (soft corns) and usually are the result of bone abnormalities in the toes.

Heloma durum (Hard Corn)

In many people, the toes do not lie flat, but curl downward. This would not be a problem if the person always walked barefoot. Fitting curled toes into shoes with tight toe boxes is one of the main causes of hard corns. The toes remain curled inside the shoe, and the tops of toes press against the inside of the shoe, usually at the toe joints. Additionally, the tip of the curled toe presses against the sole of the shoe. The skin compensates for this added pressure by thickening at the point of contact and heloma durums develop to protect the underlying structure.

Heloma molles (Soft Corn)

Heloma molles typically develop between the fourth and fifth toes when one of the toe bones (phalanges) is slightly too wide. Normal phalanges are hourglass-shaped and the tips are wider than the middle. Kissing corns result when the ends of the toe bones are too wide, causing friction in between the toes. This problem is aggravated by tight-fitting shoes. People with normal toe bones can also develop soft corns. This condition is especially common in women who wear high-heel shoes, which shift the body’s weight to the front of the foot, cramming the toes into a narrow, tapering toe box.

Treatment of Corns

Treatment of Heloma durum (hard corn)

Because hard corns usually are caused by a combination of narrow-toed shoes and toe deformities, they can be treated in two ways. One is to wear wider shoes or sandals when possible. The other is to fix the bone problem in the toes. If the toes are flexible and can be straightened, an orthotic may enable the toe to return to a normal position. Small pads can also be used to straighten the toes. These treatments are seldom a permanent solution.

When the toes are not flexible, surgery may be an option. The toe may be held in an abnormal position because the soft tissue around the bones has become stiff. If the soft tissue is released, the toe may straighten. This surgery is explained in the section on hammertoes.

Surgery may seem excessive to relieve the discomfort of corns, but the only other option is have them cut or burned off with a topical acid solution or plaster. This procedure does not correct the underlying problem, so the corns often recur.

Treatment of Heloma Molles (soft corn)

People with soft corns caused by excessively wide toe bones can switch to wider shoes with more room between the toes. Usually, however, this is not very successful. A surgical procedure that can be performed in the physician’s office may provide relief. The podiatrist makes a small incision in the toe and grinds down the piece of bone that is causing the irritation. The incision is closed with a couple of stitches. The procedure is quick, the recovery time is brief, and most patients obtain relief almost immediately.

Contact your podiatrist

Contact our podiatry clinic and one of our podiatrists will be pleased to hear from you.

The information provided in this web site is not intended to be a substitute for medical examination, diagnosis or treatment. The material is provided for information purposes alone.

Le Cor

Description du cor

Cor - Corn

Cor au pied

Le cor est une défense naturelle alors que la peau s’épaissit aux points de pression ou de friction du pied avec la chaussure en général. Le cor est habituellement rond et dur, poli ou semi transparent au centre comme un grain de maïs. Les cors peuvent devenir très douloureux et enflammés si la pression ou la friction persistent et même ulcéreux en frottant un sur l’autre.

Types de cors

Il y a deux types de cor. Le plus commun, nommé  heloma durum (cor dur)se situe sur le dessus et au bout des orteils, ainsi que sur le côté du pied. Ce type de cor résulte d’une mauvaise chaussure ou une déformation des orteils; il est parfois appelé le “kissing corn”. L’autre type de cor, nommé heloma molle (cor mou), résulte habituellement d’anomalies osseuses aux orteils.

 

Heloma Durum (Cor Dur)

Chez plusieurs personnes, les orteils courbent vers le bas plutôt que de reposer à plat. Ceci ne présenterait pas de problème pour celui ou celle qui marcherait toujours pieds nus. Par contre, les orteils enserrés dans des souliers à bout trop étroit sont le plus souvent affectés de cors durs, aux articulations sous l’effet du frottement et de la pression. Les orteils recroquevillés sont pressés contre la semelle du soulier et la peau se défend en s’épaississant au point de contact produisant le cor dur (Heloma Durum) pour protéger la structure sous-jacente.

Heloma Molle (Cor Mou)

Le cor mou apparaît généralement entre le quatrième et le cinquième orteil lorsqu’une des phalanges de l’orteil est légèrement trop large. Les phalanges normales ont la forme du sablier; les bouts sont plus larges que la tige centrale. Les cors “kissing corns” sont dus aux bouts trop larges des phalanges qui frottent sur leurs voisines. Le problème est exacerbé par une chaussure trop juste. Les cors mous peuvent aussi affecter les personnes à l’ossature normale; ça se produit le plus souvent chez les femmes qui portent des souliers à talon haut ce qui projette le poids sur le devant du pied resserrant ainsi les orteils dans la pointe du soulier.

Traitement du cor

Le traitement du Heloma Durum (cor dur)

Les causes du cor dur suggèrent deux sortes de traitement. En premier lieu, il s’agit de porter une chaussure plus ample ou des sandales. Ensuite, l’alternative dans les cas de déformation osseuse est d’utiliser une orthèse adaptée pour les personnes dont les os sont encore flexibles pour les redresser et restaurer leur posture normale. De petits coussins peuvent aussi être utilisés pour redresser les orteils. Cependant, ces solutions produisent rarement un effet permanent.
Quand les os ont perdu leur souplesse, la chirurgie peut être envisagée. Dans les cas où l’affection est causée par le raidissement des tissus autour des os, la détente du tissu peut permettre à l’orteil de se redresser. Cette procédure est expliquée plus en détail à la section sur les orteils en forme de marteau.

La chirurgie peut sembler un moyen excessif pour soulager l’inconfort causé par les cors mais la seule autre solution est de les enlever par excision ou à l’aide d’une solution d’acide. Cette procédure ne corrige pas la cause du problème donc, souvent, les cors réapparaissent.

Le traitement du Heloma Molle (cor mou) 

Les personnes affligées de cors mous dus à la largeur excessive de leur ossature peuvent porter des chaussures dont le bout est plus large laissant ainsi plus d’espace pour les orteils. Ceci n’est pas une solution idéale. Une intervention chirurgicale du podiatre peut soulager. Le docteur fait une petite incision sur l’orteil et amincit l’os coupable de l’irritation à la turbine. L’incision est ensuite suturée. La procédure est rapide, la convalescence est courte et le soulagement presqu’immédiat pour la plupart des patients.

Contactez notre clinique podiatrique

Contactez notre clinique de podiatre à Laval et à Dollard-des-Ormeaux (West Island), nous serons ravis de vous rencontrer.

Les informations fournies sur ce site Web ne remplacent pas l’examen, le diagnostic ou le traitement médical.